38.Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that when planning the construction of a building, the structure and functioning is more important than the aspect. This essay agrees with this statement because safetiness of the building is principal and they should serve for their purpose. If individuals when deciding to create a building only think about the external aspect, this can be dangerous. This is because all buildings should be constructed in a way that is safe and won’t cause any harm, so accident won’t happen. Some individuals just want a good looking building, no matter how it is made, and they forget about the important elements of the building, this can cause the destruction of it at any time. For instance, all buildings have a main part, which can be a column or a wall which supports all the building and if this is demolished, then all the building will be pulled down. The structure is designed to cater to specific purpose. People want to construct a building because they need it for something specific. Then depending for what is planned to be used for, the design of the building is different so it can ensure that it fulfill all its actions, as each construction is not same. For example, tsunamis often occur in Japan, so their buildings are built in a way that can resist these catastrophes so they can’t be knocked down when disasters happen. In conclusion, buildings should be constructed in a way so that is secure and satisfy the reason why they are created, and I therefore, believe that building’s function is more important.