To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is becoming popular to hear people say that to ensure there is adequate food for the growing population of humans, nations should consume insects. While others adopt a different point of view that insects are not beneficial for humans to eat but also have a detrimental impact on nature, I partly agree with the former statement as I will now discuss in this following essay. In my opinion, eating edible insects is a brilliant way to maintain sufficient food for the population. Edible insects could include crickets, ants, and coconut worm larvae, which are all abundant sources of protein and essential vitamins for the human body. Some studies conducted by Harvard scientists have also supported the benefits of eating insects. Plus, it is also a concern that the population in the near future could reach 10 billion people, which could lead to a group of people not having enough food to eat. The persuasion of consuming edible insects in order to compensate for the inadequate food source is likely to be a bright idea. Some see this future phenomenon as a danger, since there are some kinds of insects that should not be used as food and may even have a detrimental impact on nature. I do not quite find this argument persuasive, as scientists from credible universities have approved certain insects to be rich in vitamins and protein. Only crickets have a negative effect on nature. I also agree that there should be a warning about which kinds of insects are fine to eat. Furthermore, bees are arguably good insects because they promote plant reproduction. In conclusion, I support the bright side of eating edible insects, and there is only one kind that has a negative effect on nature. But it would be better if there were warnings about which insects to eat.