Some people believe that time spent on television, video and computer games can be valuable for children. Others beleve this may have negative effects on a child's development. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In modern times, old leisure activities for children, such as sports, reading and board games are being replaced by a more appealing forms of entertainment, such as television, video and computer games. This has arisen countless controversies on how such a shift in leisure activities could affect children. Firstly, it is important to recognise both the benefits and drawback that spending time on television, video and computer games can have on children. For instance, one of the benefits that children could receive from such activities is that it allows them to get better at using new technology. We are living in an age where the use of computers are more important than ever, having access to such devices through the mean of computer and video games can help children have a better understanding of how to use a computer, or even develop a special interest in the device and spark their interest in the ever-growing field of computer sciences. Another advantage of watching television or playing video games is that it encourages children to stay at home. Now, this would be a good thing as it prevents their exposure to potential physical injuries from taking part in traditional physical leisure activities, or even protects them from the bad influences other kids might pose. Furthermore, an advantage of watching television and playing video / computer games that would often be overlooked is the fact that it is a great form of entertainment. This ranges from meaningful and comedic cartoon shows that would give children a good laugh to many thrilling adventures in video games that would ignite their creative minds. However, with that being said, playing video / computer games and watching television has been shown to release a high level of dopamine, a 'feel good' hormone, which is associated with the use of drugs and alcohol. Studies have shown that a sudden peak in dopamine release, would cause the body to produce drastically less dopamine afterwards, and the dopamine level could even decrease below the initial level. Leading to children feeling bored almost constantly after playing video games or watching television. Additionally, this could also lead to the body blocking dopamine receptors in an attempt to balance the hormone level, resulting in children enjoying the activities less and less, causing them to resort to indulging in more of the same activities to receive the same level of enjoyment that they did before. This is called an addiction, which would have a detrimental effect upon the mental health and physical health of children. Another vital drawback is that the refusal to participate in physical activities would lead to an unhealthy lifestyle, as children would prefer staying at the same place for many hours over exercising or playing sports. This together with an unhealthy diet will lead to numerous health problems, such as obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular disease, once the children become an adult. In addition to that, prolonged exposure to a television or computer screen could cause children to develop vision problems. With regard to the issue of addiction, these conditions would only further deteriorate as the addiction would reinforce these behaviours in children, creating a positive feedback loop. In conclusion, despite the many benefits that watching television and playing video games can provide children with, it is crucial to strictly monitor and regulate their time spent on these activities and maintain a balance between these and traditional leisure activities. Which allows the children to have a healthy lifestyle.