Some people believe the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be beneficial to society. Others say the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are people who think that the primary objective of educating children is to foster philanthropic instincts among them. On the other hand, it is also argued that empowering individuals to reach their own goals is the main contribution of education in our society. While both of the groups have their own sets of logic, in this essay I will argue in favour of the former after discussing both views. A good part of our formal syllabus is designed to enhance our ability to make a positive contribution to our society. Since the dawn of civilization, our traits like lying, acting selfishly, and harming nature have been kept under check through proper education. Moreover, an educated person is deemed as a person who can differentiate between right and wrong and choose the correct path for the greater good. It also has proven examples in the current world, the more the literacy rate of a country the more it invests in its social security. On the other hand, in modern times, for any successful career, academic training is a prerequisite. This is because nowadays professional success in most of the white collar esteemed jobs is largely dependent on the amount of knowledge and information someone has on that specific subject matter. For instance, one can not become a doctor or engineer without a university degree in those topics. However, I believe that, even if knowledge is the main tool for achieving the ambitions of the career, no amount of success can guarantee a happy social life. In other words, we need more benevolent people on earth than successful people. We have examples in history where highly educated people have started wars. So primary purpose of schooling should be preparing a society where everyone lives amicably. In conclusion, formal learning is essential for both professional growth and building a merciful and sharing society. However, I will adhere to prioritising the social implications of education over personal ambitions.