Some think that governments should support retired people financially while others believe they should take care of themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is irrefutable that senior citizens are the most vulnerable members of our society and are often financially supported in enormous developed economies. In numerous nations around the world, elderly people accrue funds for themselves that give them a sense of independence and curtail the financial burden on a province. In this contemporary era, people prefer to become financially independent by accumulating funds for their golden years. It gives them a sense of independence and self-respect. The government of Canada encourages pupils for financial planning so that their citizens can lead a stress-free and luxurious old age. Moreover, this approach is beneficial to curtail the financial budget of a country. Instead of distributing money among senior citizens, the government can invest these funds for development such as infrastructure refurbishment. This would captivate the influx of tourists, hence, a country's economy will boost. A multitude of dollars were invested by the government of Indonesia to restore their historical buildings which attract thousands of visitors every year. As a result, their revenue increased precipitously. Financial support to older generations is their fundamental right and the onus of the legitimate agencies. This is because retired people have paid huge tariffs during their working years and contribute toward a country's development to a great extent. Therefore, it is the obligation of the financial ministry to pay them back for their hard-earned money. Even though elderly people have paid a significant amount of taxes to the government, I firmly believe that becoming financially independent not only gives a sense of freedom and self-respect but also reduces the financial burden on a nation. Thus, they should take care of their monetary needs by themselves and not rely on legal affirms.