The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

There has been an increasing number of tourists and English is a significantly useful language in its industry. Some believe that English will be the dominant language because it is a universal language and as a result, this will be a mono language in the world. This essay will firstly discuss the main positive aspect of having one common English and secondly, the negative impact as a result of fading other languages. On the one hand, it is obvious that English is a fundamental language and most countries have curricula in schools for first or second language hence conversations between foreigners have been much easier, especially in the tourism industries. For instance, if visitors from overseas need to know the rules, such as traffic, and cultural and religious manners, English is considerably effective in order to understand people who are from completely different worlds. Therefore, English gives all people to have common sense and awareness in a variety of circumstances. On the other hand, the mono-EnglishEnglish system would possibly vanish, particularly in minority languages. For example, for indigenous people in North America, Australia, and New Zealand, their first language is English and they hardly use their native language in their daily lives. This means that their entire culture and traditions including language would be ignored, disrespected and faced danger in extinction. This would be a cause of distinguishing individual characteristics, attributes, and specialities as a result, these historical virtues might disappear from local society. Consequently, it seems as if ethnic cleansing. In conclusion, having common English knowledge in tourism is substantial to protect visitors from dangerous situations in unfamiliar places and understand and respect other various cultures. However, the only use of the English language would bring some adverse events, such as the loss of an entire specific community. Overall, English as a universal language will be a beneficial tool for appreciating a diversified community as a method of conversation.