The gap between the rich and the poor is becoming wider; the rich are becoming richer. and the poor are even getting poorer. What problems can the situation cause? What can be done to reduce this gap?

It is true that economic growth is deepening the divide between the rich and the poor across the globe. While this may lead to rising crime rates in certain contexts, I believe that the problem can be tackled through progressive taxation. Income disparities in society are the precursor to rising crime in many parts of the world. Those born to an affluent family will have the privilege to attain decent education, secure high-paying employment and enjoy a life of luxuries with little reason to ever break the law. In contrast, children in poverty-stricken households are often trapped into a vicious cycle of poverty and unemployment. Many of them are deprived of quality education, have to do menial work with little pay and struggle to sustain a respectable standard of living. With soaring costs of living, some may resort to crime to support themselves and keep their families well fed and clothed. This is evident in nations such as Vietnam, where the rising crime rate is often associated with an uneven distribution of wealth. I believe that the best solution to this situation is taxation and increased government spending on public services. In most, if not all, developed countries, the more wealth a person amasses, the higher taxes they have to pay for the government. For example, those whose incomes exceeding£150,000 in the UK currently incur a 45% tax. Such income taxes will contribute to the government budget, which redistributes common wealth to public services, building infrastructure and increasing social welfare. With improved schools and hospitals, more children will have an opportunity to access education and health care. They can then secure decent jobs and become productive members of society later in life and end the cycles of poverty mentioned before. In conclusion, the widening wealth gap results in higher levels of crime in society. Although taxation may inconvenience the rich, I believe that it benefits the well-being of the less fortunate and fosters the development of society as a whole.