The best way to make road transport safe is to require drivers to take a driving test every year. How much do you agree or disagree?

Ensuring safety on the road is crucial. One of the methods proposed is annually requiring all the drivers to retake their driving test. However, I do not agree with that since the solution is not as effective in terms of safety as other alternatives, that I am going to talk about in this essay. If retaking the exam becomes mandatory for all, it will cost a lot of money for the government as well as the individuals. Furthermore, I assume, that few people are financially able to pay for those. Another reason relates to the inconvenience of those tests. However, I do agree that driving skills are essential when it comes to safety on the road, and refreshing, for instance, the theory, would be beneficial. Although, I don't believe that skills and knowledge will suddenly get worse in a year. There are better solutions for making roads safe. Testing a driver's knowledge is beneficial when it is done more irregularly, for example, every five or ten years. In a longer period of time, some things may be forgotten such as the meanings of different traffic signs. Moreover, in some countries, installing more speed detection cameras on roads, which will remind drivers and increase their awareness of their driving, has shown significant improvements in safety. When comes to awareness, another idea is to organize different social campaigns about the causes of traffic accidents. With these developments combined, it is possible to more effectively develop safety on the road. To conclude, although, I agree that testing drivers' skills and knowledge through tests is important, I do not think examining those annually is necessary. Doing that more irregularly as well as installing speed detection cameras and raising awareness of safety will be more beneficial in my opinion.