In order for the world to be a ‘greener’ place, punishment and fines for environmentally unfriendly acts committed by individuals need to be more severe. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It will not be overstated that the world we are living today is more likely to be unhospitable due to the massive reduction of green areas as a response to people ’s irresponsibility, causing other related problems such as worse pollution and landslides. To cope with this issue, it is believed that stricter punsihments punishment and fines should be regulated for those who have done activities that harm the environment they habituate. I wholeheartedly stand for this argument with two major reasons: the possibility to lessen people ’s environmentally destructive tendencies as well as the prospect of generating income for conservating the environment from the punishments and fines resulted. Let’s begin by witnessing one of the main characteristics that most people have, which is destructive. In most cases, people will try as best as they can to meet their demands even by neglecting or destorying the organized sets of rules including nature with no exception. By this given attribute, there should be regulations that control people ’s behavior so that they could be more civilized in occupying the environment they live or utilize. Therefore, in making this come true, government holds a pivotal role to set severer penalties and fines so that people, especially those who involve in industrial sectors will unavoidably follow them – because if they do not, there will be a huge amount of fines that they sould could would pay off. Hence, I believe that these regulations will make people take greater concerns regarding the issue on environment and the consequences they get if they break them. In addition, the presence of punishments and fines especially in the form of finance can be used as one of the sources of funding to conserve the environment. Because there will be no 100% guarantee of the absence of this issue, people who violated the environmental regulations can be sentenced and the fines that generated can be allocated to preserve the damaged conservation nature. Taking the case of fire that happened in Bromo due to the irresponsibility of a wedding organizer in Indonesia in 2023, causing more than 10 hectares savanna to be devastated as an example. The involved people are fined with more than 50 billion rupiahs and 10 years in jail. Even though this punishment might still seem unfair compared to destruction they caused; however, at least there are fundings that can be used to recover the savanna even if it does take time. All things considered, I strongly believe that the presence of punsihments punishment and fines is a crucial aspect in order to make the environment we live a greener place. Considering the probability to diminish people ’s environmentally destructive behavior and to be a way to yield income for conservating the environment objectives, therefore, implementing severe punishments and fines is a right choice.