Governments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it cannot be denied how various environmental issues have worsened, which is why innumerable suggestions centring on mandating citizens to look after their local environment have emerged. I completely agree with this proposal, based on the following reasons. For one thing, I find it exceedingly important to put the responsibility as regards environmental protection to the manufactories. The people behind these companies especially the owners are considered to be the culprits of environmental pollution, whether air, soil, or water. If these individuals are not reprimanded or penalized by the government, they will surely continue to damage nature by overly exhausting its resources or polluting the air and bodies of water for their businesses’ growth and personal benefits. As a result, not only animals will go extinct, but also humans will fail to survive eventually. For another, apart from the responsibility bestowed on commercial entities, normal citizens should also be made responsible for looking after the environment as they also contribute to severe environmental devastation. To cite a relevant example, little did people know that their frequent use of home appliances such as air-conditioning units and refrigerators, daily transportation like fuel-powered private cars, and kitchen tools, namely, disposable bags and cutleries, is also to blame for environmental deterioration. This is because they contribute to huge amounts of carbon footprints. If these related practices are not halted immediately, global warming will continue to worsen. In conclusion, I am extremely sure that if everyone, whether those behind businesses or merely average citizens, is given the responsibility to take good care of the environment, existing environmental dilemmas will not be aggravated, and a sustainable environment will be guaranteed for future generations to come.