Immigration has a major impact on society. What are the main reasons of immigration? To what consequences can it lead?

Society, which is influenced by immigration fluxes, is both positively and negatively affected on an annual basis by the steadily increasing flow movement of human migration. This essay will examine the potential reasons and consequences of people’s exodus. Migration is a phenomenon that started at the very beginning of humankind's history, in the search for food and shelter, homo sapiens was known for its nomad archaeologically registered lifestyle. In the present time, our communities are mainly structured on static settlements and defined borders. Despite this apparently safer organizational structure, any country or region is completely at risk of being affected by external factors such as local wars, or environmental disasters, forcing people to seek a better life abroad. In the same vein, and not necessarily associated with outer circumstances, some people make the decision to risk themselves in search of individual economic prosperity or a better educational future in a different environment. Although immigration and emigration should be considered indelible rights, populational and economic expected consequences in the richest countries may force some councillors to apply certain regulations that might be seen as controversial. Because of its obvious connection with human rights violations, measures like human expatriation and exportation should be prohibited, however, these practices are constantly perpetuated in countries like Spain or Italy due to their proximity to African territory. Massive size refugee’ camps are another of the multiple results of the unmeasured increase in foreign population in EU countries. Originally designated as a temporary housing plan that would provide these people with a modest life condition while waiting for their admission into European territory, it has been transformed over time into unstable, uncertain, and caused-conflict areas as a consequence of EU bureaucracy waiting times. To conclude, although northern societies' policies intend to control the acceptance of out-border populations in their territory, the methods applied are anti-humanitarian and should be reconsidered and revised to propitiate a compassionate and human-centred perspective.