In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

With the increasing awareness of child education, whether or not we should teach our kids that they can get more through hard work has become a widely debated topic in some countries. While some believe that they would have positive effects when parents always tell them to try hard, others maintain that it would have negative effects. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of this issue. To start with, kids are being encouraged to try their best all the time in order to achieve something, which undoubtedly enhances competitiveness. Children are often taught to get something by doing hard work. Hereby, they need to set an aim first. According to a study at the University of Hong Kong, people always achieve higher if they have an aim beforehand. Thus, through the process of achieving, they would learn more and practice more. Thereby, their competitiveness would be improved. Likewise, they can always be energized when you have a target to fight for. Contrarily, result-oriented people usually have high pressure. One striking example is that the suicide rate among teenagers is going up these years, since they didn’t know how to face failure when they kept in mind that they must be able to get what they want if they worked hard. To sum up, having discussed that the advantages of being told to work hard to achieve success, such as increasing competitiveness and energizedness, are obvious, but the disadvantages brought by it should not be ignored. We should strive for a balance between both of them and guide our kids toward positive development.