Farming is the backbone of the country but nowadays many youngsters hesitate to enter this profession. Why is this the case?

For many countries the farming industry is a basis of the economy, but the younger generation doesn’t choose this profession and doesn’t have the passion to develop that industry and bring some innovation. In my opinion, there are two main problems which can be the causes of that tendency: the lack of information about future prospects in the industry and the small number of profile universities with those professional courses. Firstly, let’s discuss the lack of popularization of the farming industry among youngsters. During the industrialization period many professions which connect to the financial, economic and legal sphere became more popular than others. Universities opened more related courses, agitating future students to choose popular professions. Even through movies we can see how prestigious it is to be an economist, a banker and a lawyer. And at the same time nobody talks about the farming industry and how related professions are important. Secondly, there are not enough universities with professional programs and courses. Lack of interest from prospective students can lead to these problems too. If the course is not popular, a university won’t receive funds from the government and will close the program. Moreover, programs which exist, have not been updated for a long time. And it is a huge problem, because new technology and knowledge can boost the industry for new level. In conclusion, I believe that the farming industry can be very prospective for the younger generation. Especially now, when technology and innovation can significantly improve the industry and bring prestige and money for participants.