Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The priorities of governments in striving for progress have long been a subject of debate. Including economic growth is supported by administrations. However, a considerable number of individuals advocate for a more comprehensive approach, emphasizing the significance of other forms of progress. This essay will delve into both viewpoints and present my perspective, highlighting the importance of achieving a balance between economic progress and other aspects of progress. On the one hand, there are many reasons why economic progress plays a great role in a country. Firstly, a strong economy results in job creation, and better salaries for all citizens. Secondly, economic progress ensures that more money is available for governments to spend on infrastructure and public services. For instance, governments will more invest in the country ’s transport network, school system, security, and hospital. Hence, financial stability comes with better standards of life. Thirdly, a strong economy can help a country ’s standing on the global stage, in terms of its political influence and trading power. On the other hand, I would argue that various other forms of progress such as a green environment, security social, peace, culture, social justice, and equality are equally important for a country. In particular, the treatment of minority groups often reflects the moral standards and level of development of a society. Perhaps another key consideration when judging the progress of a modern country should be how well that country protects the natural environment, and it is towards environmental sustainability. Alternatively, the success of a nation could be measured by looking at the health, and happiness of its residents. In conclusion, the economy is obviously a key marker of a country ’s success, but the various other forms of progress are equally significant.