In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Vegetarian diet is becoming increasingly common for people in some nations. This essay argues that despite the fact that a vegetarian diet may not provide all essential nutrients to body, I believe that there are more advantages of this as it saves an animal life. The major drawback is that a vegetarian diet does not offer sufficient nutrients to the human body. Generally, it is believed that it lacks iron, calcium and other important vitamins, which are important to maintain good health. If people solely rely on a vegetarian diet, they might have to take some supplements to deal with the problem of nutritional deficiency. For instance, iron deficiency is a common problem faced by vegetarian people, and they are usually advised by their doctors to eat red meat. However, it is not a major issue and this essay believes that there are more advantages than disadvantages. In spite of the above-mentioned drawback, the significant advantage is that a number of animal species can be saved. In today's world, animal trading is being done by humans, where these innocent animals are being killed or sent to animal markets just to become someone's meal for the sake of money. If more people are eating vegetarian food, it means they are saving various living lives, which is beneficial for the environment too. A particularly good example here is India, where many meat shops closed down last year because a majority of individuals have changed their preferences from non-vegetarian to vegetarian. Thus, this essay believes that if just a change of eating preference can save many lives, it is definitely more advantageous. In conclusion, I believe that the trend of following vegetarian diet by people outweigh the disadvantages because it helps to save animal life, which is far more beneficial than thinking about nutritional deficiency.