35.Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the advancement of technology, there are more high-tech products in families, such as computers and smartphones. So, a phenomenon that some children spend hours every day on their smartphones has occurred. This essay will analyze the reasons from the family environment and the kids themselves, and l believe that this situation is a negative development. Firstly, kids spend more hours on their smartphones as the education from their parents is inappropriate. To be more specific, many excuses are used by children in order to play on cell phones, such as searching for educational materials and other useful information. However, most parents do not supervise what their kids do on their phones and how much time they allocate to using smartphones, making it a chance for young people to be with phones for a long time. In addition, some parents may spoil their children, and they may meet every requirement that their kids ask. Therefore, the time that the young distribute on phones is related to parents. Secondly, the lack of self-control is another reason why some young adolescents spend a lot of time on phones. In other words, the young in their early development have a stronger curiosity and are easy to be driven by impulse, leading to them being more likely attracted by phones. Besides, there is entertainment information on the phone, such as games or social media, which can provide instant satisfaction without any effort, lowering the ability to self-control. As a result, facing temptations, they need help from their family to cultivate self-control capacity. To summarize, although the learning process can be done on smartphones, the lack of supervision and ability to self-control make them browse other messages which may be passive, affecting their mental health. Furthermore, it is well known that playing on smartphones can reduce their eyesight. Therefore, I think that this phenomenon is a negative development.