People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason for this? What are the effects of this habit?

People in the past used to sleep more than today. In this modern era, people are busy working longer hours to earn more money and are increasingly addicted to using mobile phones or social networking websites. Due to this, their mental and physical health are negatively affected. Nowadays, the world has become a very stressful and financially focused place. In the desire, to earn more money, people are working longer hours. In addition, companies have also increased working hours. As a result, individuals are working more, coming home later, and not being able to get the required sleep. In addition, the addiction to social networking websites like Instagram and Facebook is also reducing the duration of an individual's sleep. For example, according to the W.H.O., increasing use of phones has led to an increase in sleep deprivation by 35.27%. Getting only four to five hours of sleep is not considered healthy, as It can significantly affect the mental and physical health of an individual. Getting less sleep can lead to behavioural changes such as, irritation, grumpiness, and anger. Additionally, it can cause feeling tired, drained, and lethargic. These changes can also affect their personal lives, leading to mental trauma and suffering. For example, sleep deprivation is used to torture dangerous criminals as it breaks them mentally and physically. In conclusion, Due to the increasing workload and use of mobile phones and social media websites, there is a significant decrease in sleep leading to a rise in mental and physical issues in the current population.