In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

For decades, the enthusiasm for urbanization has been enhanced by rural inhabitants. Lately, there has been a sharp decrease in the population of villages. While it poses both advantages and disadvantages, I strongly agree that this growing trend is a negative development. On one hand, migration to urban cities provides an improved opportunity for education and employment among youngsters. It is well-known that most the children living in the countryside suffer from basic knowledge such as literacy and numeracy, therefore migration to capital cities will enhance their accessibility to a better quality education. Chairul Tanjung, for instance. Prior to his career as an Indonesian minister, he was an exceptional student who had been taken to the Indonesian capital city, Jakarta, and became successful in operating his business. As a consequence, this prevalent perspective has a positive effect on children from rural areas, thus giving a helping hand to a more educated society. On the other hand, this ongoing trend leads to an increased pressure on urban resources and services. As the population becomes overcrowded in the city, the existing infrastructure struggles to keep pace with the growing demands of its residents. This strain resulted in increased traffic congestion and inadequate housing options. To illustrate, several cities have fallen to this condition, including Jakarta and Bangkok. As a result, this situation will threaten the city's sustainability. In conclusion, despite the upward trend of migrating to metropolitan areas, strained services provided by the city remain a formidable challenge. Since the infrastructure cannot meet the uplifting demand, amenities become unable to operate effectively. Hence, this perspective brings more drawbacks rather than benefits.