The top priority of businesses is making money, and they do not need to have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Some people think that the ultimate goal of any business is making money without thinking about social responsibilities. I totally disagree with such an approach, because modern companies, especially huge ones, must have a lot of duties in front of mankind. In this essay, I will shed some light on the issue and provide my own opinion on the matter. To begin with, it is becoming extremely difficult to not think about social aspects these days due to selective and fastidious customers. Modern clients want to know how organizations use their money to make the planet a better place to live. For instance, Dominos Pizza clients found out that the company does not use biodegradable straws for their milkshakes and organized some sort of riot to change the situation, so the venture was forced to change straws to paper ones. In addition, modern brands have to be more ecological and Earth-friendly in general to outmaneuver their arch-rivals. A lot of businesses throughout the world invest a lot of resources to fight against global warming and carbon dioxide emissions, it helps them to strengthen their relationships with customers. For example, Apple Inc. is becoming an almost CO2-neutral venture and promises to produce more oxygen than consumed by the age of 2030. This approach gives them the ability to build strong relationships not only with customers but with institutional investors like BlackRock too. To sum up, It can be clearly seen that modern companies have a lot of responsibilities besides making money. Fortunately, the constant pressure from well-educated and responsible individuals shifted the global mindset about inequality and climate change and made the companies become better.