in the future all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. the only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. do you think the advantages of the driverless car outweigh the disadvantages?

The technological evolution hits different aspects of our lives including the way of transportation. If the matter continues at the same speed, soon all the vehicles will be replaced by robotic ones. Although this prospection can take the existing sense of driving away from people, it will increase both human safety and productivity. In my opinion, the public can greatly benefit from this development despite the possible drawbacks. The introduction of automation to the transportation sector has proven to bring many benefits to the public. Firstly, it increases human safety and lowers the incidence of road accidents. It has been reported that since driverless cars were introduced to the market the number of collisions has significantly dropped. This is because the factor of human error is eliminated which is considered a primary cause of road collisions. Secondly, it will give passengers a chance to be more productive by saving the time that was being used for driving, so they can do other things such as reading a book or magazine, or they can just relax and enjoy the journey. However, some drawbacks are inevitable. For example, the joy and excitement that were gained from controlling the car will be completely lost. Being behind the wheel and the fact that you are able to control the car gives a sense of excitement and pushes the adrenaline level in your body. I have known many people who prefer to drive a manual car rather than an automatic one because they don’t want to give up this exciting sense. In conclusion, although robotic cars can limit the joyful experience of driving, I believe they add more advantages including enhancing people's safety and saving their time.