With an advanced In technology, more and more people are able to work from home and this provides benefits to workers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technological advancements in modern days have led to an increase in the number of people who decided to work in the comfort of their houses. It is believed that this provides them with many benefits, and in this essay, I shall discuss my opinion on the mentioned statement. Obviously, there are countless benefits when it comes to working from home. Primarily is that it removes the need to travel to one's workplace, saving a person lots of money by not having to pay for transportation fees, such as gas and bus/train tickets. Thus, the employed can now spend their pay more freely, leading to more job satisfaction and improving motivation. Another advantage of staying at home to work is the extra time gained by the worker from not having to come to their workplace, and from there, travel back home, which would be devastating for a person, especially if they work far away from home. Now, having more free time would prevent stress in the employee, as they would have more time to refresh after each working day, and enhanced work efficiency. Like many things, there are undoubtedly many drawbacks when a person stays at home and works. One of which is that the work and rest environment will not be separate. Normally, an office would provide employees with a working environment, allowing them to be more productive and removing distractions. However, by remaining at home, a person's productivity would be totally dependent on their ability to remain focused, as there would be no one to supervise them, putting employees at the mercy of any distraction that might arise. Moreover, not being exposed to a different environment every day, could result in people getting bored and tired of their surrounding environment, hence degrading the employees's mental health, as demonstrated by how the lockdown from COVID-19 had affected many people who work from home, resulting in a peak in suicide rates. To conclude, I disagree that working from home would bring benefits to workers. This is because the disadvantages would simply outweigh any advantages, as constantly being in a distracting environment such as one's own home would be detrimental to their ability to work, which would in turn cost a person more time, compared to having to travel to work.