Most artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work. Do you agree?

In this scientific era, most people have lost interest in arts and as a result, artists are struggling to make a living. Many people opine that they earn poor wages and, hence, should be financially supported by the governing authority to continue their jobs. In my opinion, it would be mutually benevolent if artists receive financial aid from the government and the reasons are analytically presented in this essay. To commence with, for many artistic content creators, art is their primary source of income and inadequate earnings from it would force them to give up their pursuit of art or live a miserable life. For example, even though my grandfather was a talented painter with immense creativity, he and his family lived in poverty due to minimal earnings and eventually abstained from the profession. Hence, a monthly stipend or government funded allowance to take care of their living expenses would have allowed them stay committed to art. Furthermore, art is an imperative to protect the cultural identity of a country which in turn would boost the national income through tourism. Without art, many such cultures and impending foreign income will disappear. India, for instance, could be considered a practical example of how art as a prosaic part of their culture is used to attract travellers from all over the world. Thus, the financial assistance for artists could benefit the country and equally protects its culture. In conclusion, I strongly believe that artists need financial assistance to continue producing great works of art as a part of their basic earnings. Not only that, but also it would conserve the cultural heritage while garnering the foreign reserves of a nation. However, legitimate dissemination of funds among the those who are in dire need of it should be ensured by the central planner.