In recent years sports stars have become increasingly famous and wealthy. For some this is a benefit raising the profile of sports, but for others it is a negative influence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the past few years, famous athletes have become more popular and wealthy. Some people think this is a benefit in increasing the profile of sports, whereas others think it is a negative influence. This essay agrees that raising sports stars' popularity gives advantages to the sports world. The popularity of sports celebrities can’t be denied. This makes children have many exposures to those people, which leads them to be motivated to become the same in the future. For instance, a boy looks up to Ronaldo, and then he starts to practice football consistently in order to achieve his dream. As the same thing will happen to other kids, sports just prepare the new generations. Moreover, on the economic side, using top sports stars will boost retail product advertisements such as shirts or shoes. The rise in sports product revenue will raise the sponsorship that they grant to the sports fields. Obviously, this thing will support its growth. However, since sports idols always get highlights from the media, their private lives are also captured. Some of them have an imperfect life, such as an affair or addiction to drugs, which is not good to be followed by children. To control this, parents should filter this information out of kids’ sight. Otherwise, the teens might follow that path of life without giving it much consideration. In conclusion, the benefits outweigh the negative influence in the aspects of spreading the spirit to achieve the dream and sponsorship for sports development, while a detrimental effect is actually manageable.