Some people believe that culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism revenue, but others consider that tourism is the only way of protecting a culture. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Cultural diversity is significantly appreciated in all parts of the world nowadays. Although many people opinionate that showcasing culture to attract tourists for financial gains could be damaging, the other group of people thinks this is the absolute method of preserving their culture. Calling a majority of tourists to visit one's culture or locality can undoubtedly cause some problems however, the biggest question here is, restricting the tourists from another place is the only way of protecting it? I do not think so as there are many different ways of doing so. On one side, those who consider that tourism has a negative impact on cultural values might think that the large number of people coming to visit a cultural heritage can make it dirty with a lot of clutter as they may not contribute to overall cleanliness thinking about it's not their own culture. For example, someone who is unaware of one's religion and custom of removing shoes while entering a temple might not just take off their shoes and make the temple floor filthy. Moreover, even the local residents can try to distort the originality of their culture for their financial growth which can lead to misrepresentation of their culture. For instance, Indian traditional clothes are not transformed by numerous small business designers into Indowestern attires, which is completely distinct from the traditional way of wearing clothes because these Indowestern styles are preferred by foreigners and sold more expensively. Therefore, there are undeniable reasons to not agree with the fact that tourism can ruin the culture if not taken seriously. Having said that, people who believe that the only way of protecting our culture is by inviting visitors may input their rationale as tourism brings income to a locality which eventually helps the government to pay for maintenance of cultural infrastructures. For example, most of the buildings have an entrance fee for the sight seeing and more the number people coming in, the more benefits it will enclose. On the contrary, it is not the only solution and there are so many other ways to keep our culture safe, one of them is to educate people from outside the country or the local region about one's cultural practices and promote respect for all cultures. For instance, tourist guides can print crucial information to protect our heritage and encourage travellers to use proper guidelines to prevent any sort of damage. To conclude, it is our responsibility to protect culture but tourism is also paramount for any nation as it not only grows the economy of a country but also helps promote one's culture. However, a burst of people coming to experience different cultures can be detrimental as it could damage a property or change the originality of a cultural tradition however, stopping tourism is not the one and only solution to this concern as we can rather promote tourists about maintaining cleanliness, educating them about several steps to take in order to respect one's culture and heritage.