Some believe that history has little to teach us about today while others think that the study of the past helps us to understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, history is one of the important subjects to be taught for students in a school. However, there are still controversary views about teaching history: Is it right ar not right to teach the past in the present? I will discuss both views and take one with some reasons. Some people who believe that history is no more useless perhaps think that learning the events occured long ago would be just the waste of time. For example, some people argue that 'the past is the past', denying knowing the historical facts. Thus, for them, history can be just an interruption for going forward to the future. In contrast, other people underline the importance of teaching history, arguing that history provides us the ways to understand the present. To follow this view, so many countries still consist their formal curriculums with the history subject. In the case of Korea, when students take exams for entering a university, it is necessary to take the history of Korea, to avoid the historical disasters, such as the Japanese colonial era, wishing for students to grow as wise adults who see the present through the past. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the history education gives us the opportunities not to decide going to wrong direction in the present. Like the German government makes hardworks hard work to teach their history, in particular the modern history to prevent the mistakes of Nazis, history helps us not only understand the present, but also bring the more peaceful future. That's why history education is being highlighted as a vital part of the most countries' curriculum.