Some believe that history has little to teach us about today while others think that the study of the past helps us to understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people are convinced that there is no need to study history to live today because people’s mentality has changed. However, others think that it is possible to avoid mistakes by learning from the ones, which were done in the past. In my opinion, it is important to know what happened years ago. Nowadays, people’s ways of doing things differ compared with the past. Therefore, some historical facts might be irrelevant to use in modern society. For example, today women and men have equal rights, while centuries ago they had completely diverse roles in the family. Women were taking care of the children and house, while men were working. However, in the 21st century, it is no matter who is working within the family members. So, these differences cause some past events to become unimportant. On the other hand, studying history allows people to avoid several mistakes which could be done now. For instance, in the 20th century, Kazakhstan had an atomic bomb test centre. The existence of a centre has led to the mutation occurrence among local citizens, who are suffering even to this day. As a result, Kazakhstan closed this centre and provided a policy against atomic bombs. In conclusion, there are some events which can teach modern society how to live. Nevertheless, they should be checked accurately in order to coincide with a new mentality.