Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Some people assert that recycling household waste is not adequate. For this reason, recycling should be mandatory by official authorities. While this policy can be beneficial, I would argue that other measures through education should be taken into consideration. The main advantage of adopting legislation for recycling is that people may have to accompany this plan, especially those who are less concerned about environmental issues. In fact, it is suggested that people may not take responsibility for social issues, such as contamination by household waste, in accordance with their personal characteristics, followed by unreliability both personally and socially. Therefore, it seems that there is no option unless governments approve laws to mandate such citizens to become more sensitive and responsible, as they know that not cooperating can have legal consequences. As a result, rules may encourage people to aid local administrators in recycling their waste, although experiences indicate this policy could not be effective in mitigating other social problems. Notwithstanding, governments can implement several plans to spread recycling among houses. Initially, people should be responsible for their society to make it a better place for life. As there is a close connection between childhood upbringing and their character, they should learn at schools to recycle their waste to preserve the environment. Furthermore, educational institutions and the media can trigger and increase public awareness about this subject. This means that if people are informed about various irreplaceable consequences of not cleaning cities by recycling, from water and soil contamination to the spread of diseases, they will cooperate effectively with local recycling programs without any laws, leading to a higher level of success without extra costs either economically or technically. Consequently, nurturing a more productive society can be a conducive solution not only in recycling but also in other setbacks. In conclusion, laws for recycling may be useful for a few people with special personalities, yet people should be taught to take action responsibly and volunteer to assist governments in recycling, as it is proven that rules cannot have a long-term effect.