Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an aging population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. Do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

Humans nowadays are surviving the longest than was evident in the history. Although, it is thought by some that increasing aging population acts as a burden on the government, while others consider it to be of great reward to the society. In my opinion, the drawbacks of having increasingly elderly population far outweigh the perceived benefits it pose. Admittedly, there are benefits to having a rising senior citizens group in the society. Firstly, it is believed to offer more practical exposure to adults with their direct presence. This will in turn provide youngsters with real-life learnings about the mistakes they had made in the past, which can in the long run prove to be a key strategy to deal with such scenarios without incurring any monetary or emotional losses. Secondly, youngsters can learn traditional values from seniors. In India, for instance, the aged people are considered to be the door-keepers for ensuring cultural heritage and moral values are sustained in the society for the generations to come. Lastly, their experience is quite valuable and essential in fields like medicine and geo-politics which has evolved over centuries. Nevertheless, despite the positive aspects mentioned above, the drawbacks of ageing population are hard to dismiss. One potentially important problem with the ageing population is the added financial burden on the government resources. As a result, seniors are acting as a liability on the government, ultimately requiring to spend considerable cash reserves on fufilling their medical needs and support their basic benefits, furthermore causing excessive debt burden on the government. Another obvious reason is that the government is refrained from making further contributions to improve school education and uplift the medical facilities for growing younger generations. In conclusion, the drawbacks of supporting the aging population through government initiatives cause far more repercussions than the benefits deemed so.