To solve the ever-increasing environmental hazards throughout the world, the best way is to increase the price of fuel. What is your opinion on the above assumption?

Environmental problems are the main issue for mankind nowadays and in order to ensure the continuation of life, governments should look for solutions immediately. Many people believe that if the fuel prices increase, the environmental pollution will decrease and the burden of the world will be reduced. In my opinion, increasing fuel prices cannot solve the problem, instead it can create new paradoxical problems for our life. On the one hand, excessive fuel consumption is the common characteristic among the upper class people. They usually have more than one car, prefer not to use public transportation, and frequently travel to dıfferent place of the world using jets and aiprlanes. Therefore, their carbon footprint is significantly higher than that of ordinary people. So, if the governments increase the fuel prices, which cannot be a huge economic burden for this advantaged group of people, they can afford it without any major problem. On the other hand, fuels are not only used in cars but also other essential devices and machines which are used for the production of important jobs like tractors for agricultural area. Moreover, transportation of products is the biggest expenditure for consumers and rising fuel prices will affect lower and middle class people more than upper class consumers. All in all, increasing fuel prices might sound good at first glance, however to cope with environmental issues people should focus on other major pollutants such as plastics and harmful chemicals. Recycling and raising awereness among people could be a more effective solution than increasing fuel prices.