The government should spend more money on skills and vocational training for practical work rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The allocation of government funds whether for skills and vocational training or university education is a subject of significant debate. While some people believe that government funds should be spent on skills and vocational acquiring, I firmly disagree with this proposal. In this essay, I will try to advocate why university education should be subsidised by governments, highlighting the crucial role of universities. First and foremost, universities not merely provide job-based training and skills, but also enhance analytical thinking, cultural background, and cognitive skills. To illustrate, a person who has studied veterinary medicine, thanks to opportunities provided by the university, can be converted into a scientist or well-known animal husbandry expert. Even he/she is able to enter politics and make significant contributions to the agricultural and livestock sectors of his/her country. Furthermore, it is essential to recognize that universities have played a role in dealing with some social problems which threaten people's total well-being. For example, many life-saving treatments are created by universities and their academic staff. Secondly, the ability to critical thinking is one of the most important skills to improve people’s rights and to find a solution to economic and political turmoils. According to surveys which are related to elections, when the population’s educational level increases, some political parties, which usually defend racism, inequality in society, excessive religious activities or other hazardous things for the whole community, considerably decrease their vote rates. Therefore, highly educated individuals are not willing to vote for these parties and try to improve the community’s analytical thinking abilities. To sum up, while vocational training and skills for practical work provide a highly qualified workforce, universities have played a pivotal job in terms of human development, a sustainable environment, and social background and communication so government funds should be spent on the development of universities.