Some countries are struggling with increasing crime rates. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Rising crime rates have been a debated issue for many countries. In order to deal with the current problem many people consider that enhancing the number of law enforcement on the streets is merely way to decrease crime rates. While that can give a short term solution, I disagree with the given proposal. Crime is a more complex issue influenced by socially and individual factors. To begin, crime rates are generally high in low-income urban areas compared to wealthy zones. Increasing police numbers might mitigate the crime rates thanks to improved patrolling on the streets, whereas that will just cover the main problem instead of a permanent solution. To illustrate, research conducted on low-income areas shows that when the government supplied job opportunities and vocational training, the rate of crime decreased significantly. Nonetheless, the same research displays that increased patrolling duties have led to tension between dwellers and police officers rather than coping with the issue. Secondly, the crime rate usually depends on various aspects such as inequality, economic condition, educational background, upbringing area and migration rate. Solely, fostering a police force just conceals the seed of the problem and gives rise to temporary solutions. To deal with the given reasons, countries have to find ways to increase literate levels, control migration movements and provide equality in the financial background of the society. For example, decreasing unemployment and fostering educational facilities in urban areas provide low crime rate involvement among the young generations. All in all, while enhancing police force numbers led to a short-term solution, decreasing the crime rate is a more comprehensive issue. Countries have to think elaborately and try to find the real cause of increasing crime trends and should improve the general conditions of their societies.