Online currencies have become more common in recent years. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is undoubtedly to say that society, throughout the latest years, has faced multiple innovations, one such being digital currency. This essay shall analyse some of the advantages of online money and what is the reason of being used more frequently. On one hand, using online currencies as a payment type is straightforward and worldwide accepted. Nowadays, most of the shopping platforms offer, as an incentive, discounts or in some cases, points that can be further for other acquisitions on the website. Although it may seem like a difficult process for seniors, most of the shopping platforms are user-friendly and very intuitive. People can pay from the comfort of their house in any country. Nevertheless, in Romania for example, even the local authorities have been implementing digital payments and it seems to be a favourable outcome. On the other hand, using online currency allows people not to worry about being robbed or worrying about a counterfeit bill. Furthermore, physical cash is subject to various white-collar crimes, including money laundering, fraud, and bribery because it is difficult for prosecutors to charge felons. In addition, digital payment has not subject to counterfeit bills in the past few years, the United States, recorded several cases compared to countries where online currencies are implemented. As well, tourists have encountered numerous incidents when they were deprived and scammed by foreign exchange offices. To sum up, online currencies are used more and more because they are effortless and secure. There have been registered some downsides, however, in my opinion the positive developments outweigh the negative ones as the online currencies are a safer, efortless and secure option for any of the moments of life.