The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some individuals may believe that the government’s investment should not be applied to culture, such as theatre and music, which they see as a waste of money. I totally disagree with this statement because culture has not only a relevant economic impact on the country, but also a significant educational importance. The main reason I believe the government should keep investments in culture is because of the economic return to the country. The art industry has become one of the biggest income resources in Brazil, and it is also responsible for increasing the employment in different fields. For instance, the music industry is growing and reaching international platforms, bringing tourists to visit us, and also inviting our national artists to perform in their countries. Furthermore, culture has also a very important role in our educational system. In particular, art has been part of the children's education for many years in Brazil, and the positive impact of it can be seen in the day-to-day routine of the schools. For example, there is a public dance theatre in my neighbourhood, and hundreds of children who do not have the condition to pay for a private school can be benefit from this service. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that governments should stop investing in culture and art. Society is not only benefited from the economic return to our country, but also from the educational impact on our people. Therefore, it is important to mention that there is enough money coming from our taxes to both needs, culture and social service, but unfortunately the corruption does not allow the country to thrive.