Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities aroud the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think the statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

It is true that nowadays in many big cities, there are regular traffic jams, which may be caused by the dramatically increased number of car owners. Personally, I believe that there are some steps that governments can take to prevent this problem caused by car over usage. In my opinion, the large number of cars on the roads is the main cause of traffic jams, which occur because of the affordability of the vehicles. In the modern society with developed technologies even a low-income individual can afford to purchase a car, just maybe not as fancy as it could be. Therefore, I consider that increasing the taxes and other regulations on car ownership by the government is a great solution to the high traffic problem. It can help to decrease the demand for cars in the economy, freeing the streets from large numbers of vehicles. Instead, people can use public transport or more eco-friendly options such as bicycles. However, public transport can be not as convenient and cheap in some towns, thus one may prefer to use their own personal transport, instead of sharing it with other people, creating traffic jams. Hence, the government can use this opportunity to develop the public transport system and make it more affordable, decreasing people’s wish to use a car. If it is cheaper and faster to reach the wanted destination than using a personal vehicle, the demand for travelling with cars will immediately drop, especially for those with low income. Taking everything into consideration, various measures, such as increasing the taxes on car ownership and developing the public transport system, should be taken by governments to solve the high traffic problem.