Some people think that older employees are more useful to a company. Others believe that in modern world young employees are more useful. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

In recent times, it is commonly argued whether a corporation should recruit older staff or young staff. I personally believe that hiring a person should focus on the needs of the work itself because older employees and young employees have their own merits. On the one hand, the company prefers hiring older employees since they are more experienced and stable. In general, some firms are not willing to spend extra time training their new joiners about basic professional knowledge such as office tools and communication skills. Experienced staff could adapt to the new position and fresh working environment faster than young ones as they were trained by previous employees. Similarly, older employees do not jump to new companies frequently and are not emotional when facing job challenges. Therefore, companies will face a lower risk of talent loss if they hire older employees. In addition, older employees are good at controlling emotions, for example, when facing different clients or stakeholders from other departments, older staff can focus on the solution rather than being angry. On the other hand, there are two main reasons that it is widely found that young people are popular in the human resource market. Firstly, young staff are more ambitious in their career development than experienced ones in the company, and they strive to present better work output by bringing innovations to the company such as technology enhancement, new working methodology and skill improvement. Secondly, corporations prefer young employees because they can contribute more time to their jobs. Generally, youngsters do not have family care burdens including children's education, parents' care and financial pressure, as a result, young staff are able to spend more time at work. Adversely, older people face more pressure from their families, which can distract their attention and cost their time. In conclusion, both older and young employees have their own advantages, it is hard to make a judgement to say which one is more useful to a firm. Therefore, hiring older or younger staff should be based on the job requirements of the company.