Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays is much better than it was in the past. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this modern era, the life expectancy of humans around the world is improving. The number of people who surpassed midlife age is rising. It is agreed that the life experience of the elderly is better than our predecessor. Discussing the negative socio-economic impact caused by the old people, as well as scientific innovation that led to this phenomenon will balance these views. On one hand, an increasing quantity of elderly people would heavily burden the state economy due to unproductivity workforces and social expenses. For instance, Japan is widely known for its technology-driven and highly educated country but suffered from stagnated economic growth since the 1990s. This is mainly because the productive society has been declining and rarely has the desire to regenerate. This led the Japanese to live in solitary and age until reached the time when they would benefit from social security and living pension rather than spending in the market. On the other hand, people in this century are benefitting from older innovations and inventions that impacted healthcare, nutrients, living conditions, and daily-use technologies. Public opinion often compares to the older civilizations that did not receive better disease treatment and were most of the time involved in warfare and local conflicts that resulted in reduced life expectancy. With experiments and ever-increased natural science, innovators tried to improve human needs and conditions until now. In conclusion, there are pros and contrasts regarding the older age in terms of the economic and social environment. Although the elderly society is not productive and requires a lot of attention at country and societal levels, it is our responsibility to not neglect and treat them with the best quality we can provide.