Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With the shortage of local experts, whether or not they should work for their own country has become a widely debated topic. While many people believe that they should contribute to where they learned, others maintain that they can work anywhere they like. Given the draining of experts and resources and the freedom of decision-making, I will discuss both views in the following essay. To start with, training a professional requires lots of resources, like money, trainers, and time. For instance, training a doctor from a university to an internship takes almost 11 years. Even more, according to the statistic at the University of Hong Kong, the process of turning a student into a doctor cost around 1 million Hong Kong dollars. Thereby, it is definitely a loss of resources if those qualified professionals work in other countries. On the contrary, we could not force anyone to work anywhere; it would offend the freedom of decision, absolutely affect the reputation of those countries, and thus cause more financial damage. By and large, the advantages of keeping qualified professionals in other countries to prevent loss of resources and experts are obvious, but the disadvantages brought by it should not be ignored. In my opinion, I strongly believe we should strike a balance between them. For example, the government can pass legislation to let those professionals serve the county for a certain period of time after training; after that, they are free to work anywhere. Moreover, the salaries could be increased to encourage them to stay longer. To conclude we should bear in mind the benefits and drawbacks of not allowing experts to work anywhere in order to prevent the limited loss.