A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

It is true that the issue of tourism has become arguable nowadays. While a number of people say that tourism has a positive impact in various ways, others believe that it has a few drawbacks. This essay will examine the benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon. On the one hand, there are a number of merits to tourism, which can obtain any tourist destination in the world. One of the most advantageous sides is that it helps to improve a country’s national and local economies, which is possible due to the spending of travellers on local services. For example, the majority of tourists who are from outside use the services of tourist places, such as accommodation, food, and transportation; therefore, they need to pay for these. As a result, the economy of a tourist destination obtains benefits. What is more, tourism provides numerous job opportunities for the local masses. With increasing tourists, the demand for hotel and restaurant staff, tour guides, and new businesses increases, so they assign many employees. On the other hand, tourism also has numerous drawbacks due to a number of factors. The main downside is the destruction of tourist destinations, which occurs for travelers. For instance, most tourist attractions, namely museums, statues, old buildings, zoos, and so on, face problems coping with the vast majority of travellers, and this is because these places have the threat of destruction. Secondly, tourism can cause criminal activities such as robbery, stealing, and harassment. Travellers convey cameras, jewellery, and money for spending, which attract offenders for criminal activities. In conclusion, although tourism has both advantages and disadvantages for a country, Having considered both sides, I think the conveniences of this outweigh the demerits.