Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child's development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

One of the fastest growing solutions for obtaining education, especially during the recent Covid-19 pandemic, is homeschooling. Through the years, people have been developing ways to effectively educate the next generation from the home to the formal school environment. In the past few decades, home study had become a formal way of acquiring diplomas for primary, secondary, and even higher levels of education. Like any other forms of education, homeschooling has some benefits and limitations. On the one hand, two important aspects to consider are the current global health and financial crises. Practically, homeschooling has presented a positive solution for families that are still cautious about the pandemic and for those who cannot afford expensive private education. Aside from the fees of learning materials, families spend less for school charges and also other costs incurred by attending regular schools. One example is transportation. People who study at home do not need to travel daily saving money as well as time and energy. In addition, homeschooling provides an advantage for students who have physical limitations and disabilities. Such people may acquire education with equal chances as those who are what we call in the “normal” state without affecting their self-esteem and not feeling physically “different”. On the other hand, studying at home also presents some undesirable but inevitable disadvantages. The development of social skills among students, especially at a young age, is actually an important component of growth parents should not neglect. Most individuals who prefer homeschooling miss the chance to interact with other people such as co-students, teachers, or strangers that might vitally contribute in the learning process. Moreover, homeschooling actually limits a child’s supplementary learning because resources at home might be limited. Learning from home prevents a child from accessing vital educational resources that might only be available in a school setting. Education is an essential part any of individual’s life. Homeschooling may offer a clear solution for success especially to those with financial and physical disabilities, not to mention its primal role during the recent global health crisis. Even so, like any other methods of learning, it also has drawbacks particularly in the aspects of social and supplemental learning development. Thus, although homeschooling may seem like a viable way of acquiring education, it demands a great deal of consideration and improvement. Having considered the pros and cons of home -based learning, I believe that traditional mainstream education remains the better alternative for today’s learners.