In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In many nations worldwide, folk are migrating to urban metropolises from the countryside, which is reducing the population in rural areas. I think this is a demerit, as it creates overcrowding in the capital and poor progress in the countryside. This essay will further explain my stance in the ensuing paragraphs. To begin with, there has been a rising number of population living the villages and small township and relocating to the big cities for some obvious reasons. Some of these reasons are schooling, search for jobs and exposure which most rural towns lack and this has seen global popularity. The majority of the small towns scarcity good schools for further studies, job vacancies for prospective people and for that matter people leave the places to the urban towns to seek these needs. This tends to create pressure on the amenities and facilities available in the towns, increase traffic jams and also rise in vices like robbery, prostitution etc. For example, in the last conducted housing and population census in Ghana in 2020, it revealed that the population in the regional capitals especially Accra has 90% of the citizens coming from villages in pursuit of jobs and education, while some lack proper places to lay their heads. Furthermore, the negativity to this move is that the small towns from where these people are all shifting continue to face a lot of developmental crises ranging from bad roads, to social amenities like hospitals, schools etc. Since the people are moving to the big cities in quest of all these things they lack in their villages, the government and the relevant people see no need to extend their developmental agenders to these places which is weighing down most economies, particularly in agriculture. For instance, the McDan group of companies has seen the need to build a salt factory in the Ada community of Ghana where salt is mined and has by far opened job opportunities for the indigenes which I believe is a laudable thing if emulated globally will help curtail this negative development of rural-urban migration. In conclusion, there is a global increase where people are moving from the countryside to the big cities bringing down the number of rural citizens which I believe is not a positive development because it is increasing overcrowding and poor development in the rural towns.