In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, technological advancements are visible in all aspects of human lives. By further progresses in technology, self-driving vehicles would not be far-fetched in the near future. I believe that this revolution in technology would cause overwhelming benefits in human’s lives. In terms of benefits, the substantial significance of driverless vehicles would be dramatic increase in the number and severity of accidents on road networks. To illustrate this, in Dubai, where the driverless vehicles are being used for three years, the car accident rates have dropped by 30% in 2022. These vehicles are designed and programmed precisely whereas; all the driving regulations and details of roads are introduced in this system. By implementing this system all over the world the violation of driving rules will reach to least, therefore a considerable fall in the number and severity of accidents would be predictable. Nevertheless, these driverless cars would be accompanied with some problems. Utilizing self-driving cars will result in losing job for taxi drivers. Since, these vehicles do not need driver, this job will be faded. As a result taxi drivers will encounter financial difficulties. Furthermore, because of the technology and science used in these cars, they will cost a fortune. Thus, a myriad number of people in the world would not afford to buy self-driver cars and it would be attainable merely for a slight number of people. In conclusion, driverless vehicles would be one of the benefits of technological advancements in the following years. Although it would not be without its challenges like unemployment or unaffordablity, I believe the dramatic decrease in accident rates will overtake the cons.