Nowadays governments are investing more in public transport such as buses and trains rather than in building new roads. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

In this age, decision-makers are spending more money to develop public transportation means rather than constructing new routes. I am of the belief that developing public commuting means have a positive impact on the environment compared to private vehicles. On one hand, building new paths plays a pivotal role in mitigating the traffic congestion issue. In other words, many individuals suffer from lacking in infrastructure such as roads that makes them wasting their time on roads. For instance, in Iraq, there are around two thousands motor vehicles enter the country annually, while the available highways have not been changed since ten years. This example shows that the number of private commuting means is not directly proportional to the number of available routes, accordingly, this leads to accumulation of a huge number of cars in,particularly, few roads which, in turn, causes traffic jam. As a result, building new highways can have an indispensable impact on treating the traffic problem. On the other hand, activating public transportation systems plays an important role in decreasing air pollution levels. To illustrate, the prime culprit of polluted air is exhaust fumes, which has been surging in the past few years because most people depend on private transportation means instead of using the public commuting network. Subsequently, several sever illnesses have emerged such as lung cancer and other respiratory diseases. This can exemplified by an article conducted by a group of Iraq researchers that showed the death rate due lung cancer is gradually increasing mainly because of vehicle fumes. What can be said here is that investing more money to enhance and develop the public transportation system can significantly improve the environment, as well as, decrease the pollution levels. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned ideas, I assume that allocating money for improving the public transit instead of building new roads can save many lives, and will mitigate the problem of air pollution.