Social media helps people to keep in touch with friends and stay on top of news and events. Do you think the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Using Social media, individuals these days, keep themselves informed of the latest information and events around them, while at the same time keeping in close contact with their friends and family members. In my opinion, I believe the advantages brought by social media of increased convenience and effectiveness far outweigh any minor shortcomings that it might bring. On the one hand, social media does pose concerns of a superficial friendship and family relationships. People, are becoming overly reliant on social media and not keeping abreast with their friends by meeting them in person. This, in the long run, is the leading reason for an individual’s decreasing number of quality friends and merely remaining to many online name sake friends. Furthermore, social media brings with it the rising possibility of spreading false information. For instance, during the COVID-19, people assumed that virus was caused by eating snakes and took internet and social platforms by storm. At times, this can prove detrimental not just to friendship between nations, but also cause global war and outcry. Nevertheless, despite the disadvantages mentioned above, social media does pose numerous benefits. Firstly, humans can connect with each other with just a tap of the button on social websites quite reliably than any other traditional means of communication. India, for instance, has benefitted the most, as foreign students keep close communication with friends motivating them to pursue higher education, while being in touch with their parents day in and day out. Secondly, the effectiveness and reliabilty of social media is unparalleled. Online websites hosted on internet operates uninterruptedly, while telephone transmission might fail due to weather reasons. Additionally, using social media, people can keep themselves updated about the lastest developments happening across the world without spending financially on newspapers and magazines. In conclusion, the positive aspects of enhanced information sharing, along with the ease in connecting with people, prove far superior than any downsides it might have.