Some people rely too much on doctors instead of taking care of their own health. They think all health problems can just be “fixed” by visiting doctors. What problems could this approach to healthcare cause and how might they be solved.

Healthcare is one of the most paramount affairs to discuss because of its correlation with human being’s existence. Nowadays, doctors have been placed as the main figure for people in solving their health issues, so seldom have people thought about maintaining it by themselves. This essay will address two possible problems caused by this phenomenon as well as its potential solutions. Firstly, doctors may be overstretched and not be spending enough time with the patients who need their help the most. If the patients with severe conditions were not treated immediately, their condition would be getting worse. For instance, there are many practicing doctors in Indonesia who prioritize patients in their practice, then ignore patients who are dying in the hospital where they work. Secondly, the increase in healthcare fees. The more patients who visit healthcare facilities, even for lighter signs of their diseases, the more possibility of rising healthcare costs will happen. For example, in the United States, since populations are becoming unhealthy, they need long-term healthcare that’s more complex and resource-intensive than routine care which comes with a high price. Nevertheless, two possible solutions are provided here. First, greater healthcare provision is needed. The number of patients is always outweighing the number of doctors and healthcare facilities; consequently, providing an adequate number of doctors and healthcare facilities is urgent. For instance, the government can make a policy to send doctors and build healthcare facilities in rural in rural areas, so the accumulation of patients in a certain area can be avoided. Second, a policy concerning the healthcare fee should be made by the authority to avoid the aptness of private hospitals raising their fee. For example, a new regulation that arranges the price of healthcare service can be issued by a local administration. In a nutshell, the doctor’s hectic schedule and the increasing healthcare price are problems that may arise when people rely on doctors too much. However, it can be solved by raising the number of doctors and providing healthcare infrastructures, especially in the rural areas. Another solution is to issue regulations regarding the price of health services.