In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advanatages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Hard work usually is the minimum requirement to achieve anything, but that does not always be the case. Life is complicated and there are many factors that would contribute to our achievement, especially having a good luck. Obtaining a fortuitous chance in order to accomplish our goal is not something that would be under our control even if we have already plan it meticulously. We might told our children to keep trying, but if the circumstances around him/her are not favorable enough in order to reach that objective, then it would be pointless. The role of the parents in my opinion should be the one to open the path for the children by creating a possibility that could lead to a favorable situation. It could be anything from enrolling the said children to some courses or classes that could hone their innante skills, or using the connection. The last option could be considered as nepotism in which morally and ethically unacceptable, but as long as the way to obtain the prospect is legal under the law, then it should be fine. Good parents with excellent moral compass would certainly only choose the first option. If the said children still could not acquire his/her goal after hard work, then it is up to their parents' intention whether to resort to the second option or simply told the children that it is time to give up. Whether the said children would give up or not in the end, as long as they already work hard, then the most important lesson that life is not always going according to our plan is already being learned