Some people believe that if a child commits a crime, he or she should be punished, while others think it is the child’s parent who should be punished. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often held that a child should be sentenced for wrongdoings, while others believe that it should be their parents instead. This essay will discuss both views in detail and argue in favour of the former. On the one hand, those who prioritise punishment for children view it as a learning experience. That is the young can learn about the consequences of breaking the law. For instance, if a teenager is not sentenced for shoplifting then they will continue doing it as a 'normal' act. Therefore, it is fundamental that minors are taught the importance of following the law and the severe effects for breaking them. On the other hand, others prioritise responsibilities of the parents more than the little ones. They argue that infants are not legally responsible for their actions because they are minors; they have not reached maturity to make independent decisions. To illustrate, a child consenting for an alcoholic drink cannot be legally accepted, unless their guardian consents to it on their behalf. In this case, the adult is responsible for making a reckless decision and should be sentenced due to not supervising their children appropriately. In my opinion, I believe that the young should be sentenced in order to learn from their errors. Thus children can develop better when they understand the gravity of their actions and can be deterred from committing wrongs in the future. In conclusion, although parents are responsible for looking after their small ones, I think that children should also be responsible for their wrong actions by facing appropriate punishments.