The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by ‎almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this ‎disturbing trend.‎ Show ideas and vocabulary / Find essays with the same topic

In recent years, there has been an increased incidence of obesity, especially among the paediatric age group in the West and it has been estimated that the percentage of overweight children has increased by 20% in the last decade. It is quite alarming and the reason and effects of this disturbing trend are discussed below The foremost cause of obesity is unhealthy eating habits. The rise of fast food joints,easy and excessive availability of processed and sugar-filled foods such as chips, candy,cookies, ice creams etc and a very busy and competitive lifestyle has taken a toll on our diet. The next culprit is inactivity which is evidently noticeable among youngsters, they prefer sitting down and playing video games, reading books, and using digital appliances over running outside, chasing butterflies,flying kites, andplaying playing enthusiastically with their peers. Furthermore, Parents are the major reason for the ill-being of their own children. Very often, big kids have parents who are overweight themselves and they lack self-control and the ability to take care of their young ones.They have food issues themselves and have a hard time saying "no "to kids. Lastly, kids might be suffering from disorders such as hypothyroidism and such diseases seem to have an impact on their weight and affect the overall well-being of the youth in a negative manner. Obesity comes with a variety of sufferings, both physically and mentally. First of all, such kids are robbed of a joyful, memorable and rich childhood which makes them incapable, lazy and unmotivated grown-ups. It also leads to diseases such as diabetes mellitus, heart troubles, hypertension etc which bring down the quality of life drastically and even lead to unexpected early deaths. Let us not forget that overweight children become obese adults and they pass their habits and traits down to the upcoming generation making it a vicious cycle which is pretty hard to overcome or break. In conclusion, there has been an increased incidence of obesity among young adults which is mainly due to the recent lifestyle modification coupled with bad parenting and it causes plenty of mind-related and body-related issues which make living miserable and unworthy. Hence, necessary steps should be taken to ensure a healthy life for the upcoming generations.