Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Recent world’s major health problems have left us wondering with many questions. Sugary products, to be specific, seem to be the most controversial. But what can we do to address this? Some people dispute that imposing taxes on highly sugared food and drink products may be the case. On the one hand, the tax has long been used by the government as a way to put some specific kinds of goods under control, and it has shown to be effective to an extent. For instance, in some studies, a price rise of 10 percent on a pack of cigarettes can reduce the demand for cigarettes in the short term by about 4% in high-income countries and 8% in their low-income counterparts. So, a similar trend is also expected when it comes to the products for sweet-tooth individuals. By imposing taxes, it will deter continuing consumers from buying those products and prevent the new ones from proceeding. On second thought, the levy of tax has its downsides. An excessive increase in tax will add up to the overall price of the product, making it difficult for both the consumers and the manufacturers. From the viewpoint of the firm involved, a high rise in the market price eventually ends up in less profit, which leads the manufacturer to change its production strategy, by cutting down on the salary of its workers and reducing the workforce (which is a burden on social welfare). It turns out to be counter-productive, affecting economic momentum with higher unemployment rates and lower state budgets. On the other hand, there are still many other feasible approaches that can be carried out. For one thing, an introduction to a brand new line of products which is sugar-free (or zero calorie) by making use of chemical sweeteners, leaving people with more options to choose from. Take note that it must come with a brilliant advertising campaign as people usually associate "chemicals" with the germ of unhealthiness. In other words, experts involved in food manufacturing may create a substitute food that satisfies consumer demands while maintaining a sugary flavour without posing a risk. Aside from that, as it takes some getting used to, it would be impossible to rigorously limit the tolls of sugary drinks or foods at once. Finally, but just as importantly, the people can only trust and adhere to that ideal if the government is the pioneering body in creating a less sugar-filled lifestyle. In conclusion, I agree with the idea of bringing tax into account, but it would be better if we combine all those things together, and execute them all at once. Besides, the need to raise the awareness of the citizens should not be underestimated, as it is the best solution in the long run.