Government should spend more money on medical research and less on researching the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we are facing many challenges, specifically increasing diseases and environmental problems. There is a contentious issue which some individuals argue the government needs to give priority to research medicine more than the environment. However, I disagree with that. Firstly, humans have the predominant responsibility for global warming that is one of the causes of natural disasters like droughts and floods. Nowadays, there is numerous news coming from all over the world to report the effects of climate change to society. For example, a few days ago, it was raining cats and dogs at Da Nang city, and a few months prior to that Da Lat is the city on the top of the mountain that has floods. Hence, studying the environment and finding out how to prevent potential risks is paramount. Secondly, the governments representing all citizens should have accountability to resolve the environment more than medicine, because undertaking medicine research is the monetary way of companies, thus they are willing to invest in order to research medicine. While it’s only the government that has power to introduce imperative legislation that requires all inhabitants to obey. For example, fuel emissions are the main reason for global warming. The government can limit the amount of carbon dioxide released from factories. Besides, encouraging residents to use the transportation system and renewable energies. Furthermore, sharing responsibilities to others also reduces the stress on budgets of the governments. In conclusion, finding solutions for treating diseases is not only the responsibility of the governments but also opportunities for monetary gain of the companies. Therefore, carrying out studies on the way to save habitats is an imperative responsibility of governments.