Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, there have been fierce debates about on whose shoulder the responsibility of carrying out and supervising scientific research lies. I completely agree that it’s only the government that has the capability and the right to conduct and oversee scientific research. To begin with, governments are more suitable to carry out scientific research than private companies for the reason that they have greater financial and diplomatic competencies. It is known to all that to do scientific research a huge amount of money is needed and the economic benefits of it can take years to come, which is unacceptable to most corporations. In contrast, relying on national funds, it would be much easier for governments to subsidize this kind of activity. Besides, nowadays, many scientific experiments involve international collaboration, making it hard for private companies to organize and coordinate all the personnel. However, many countries across the world are fusing into various scientific alliances, sharing resources and enabling the free flow of experts, which are the key factors to the smooth running of multinational research programs. In addition to this, the government should bear the responsibility of superintending all scientific projects instead of letting them be controlled by certain companies for moral reasons. In recent years, awareness has been raised about the potential harm and damage some scientific research can bring to the human race. It is universally accepted that findings on scientific research should be under supervision to guarantee that it is used for the sake of the public. And it is the government of each country that represents the communal interest of all its people, rather than private corporations. As a result, governments should be entrusted to superintend and guide scientific programs. In conclusion, since governments have more economic and diplomatic capacity and can better safeguard the interest of their people, I am in agreement with the idea that they should be the one to make sure that scientific research is properly carried out and overseen.